Simple food

teff porridge | makeeat.wordpress.com

teff porridge | makeeat.wordpress.com

Sometimes when I want to do something nice for myself, I buy books. That’s how I bought The Unknown Craftsman: A Japanese insight into beauty by Sōetsu Yanagi and Sunday Suppers by Karen Mordechai. Seemingly different, essentially they happen to share the same idea that beauty is found in simplicity, be it a shared meal or a Raku bowl.

My grandmother was very good at turning humble ingredients into simple but delicious meals. Many times there was hot porridge waiting for me in the kitchen the moment I opened my eyes. Now that I have my own children, porridge is always a satisfying, quick and easy dinner or breakfast solution.

The first time I tried teff or sorghum was also in porridge. When I last gave birth a friend brought me a thermos with steaming teff and flaxseed porridge that warmed my heart and belly. Apparently this food, rich in iron, calcium, protein and dietary fibers, is a staple in Ethiopia for new mothers.

Taking inspiration from all the porridge makers in my life I made one of my own. It combines a few different flavors that, in my opinion, work quite well together. Don’t skip the best part – almond butter and coconut sugar.

teff porridge | makeeat.wordpress.com

 

Teff and sorghum cold porridge with coconut milk and almond butter  

It’s really good warm as well, but I find that it’s even better cold when it has a pudding texture. This recipe is vegan and gluten free, but you may use regular milk instead of the coconut which will add some sweetness.

Ingredients (2 servings):

½ cup water

½ cup coconut milk

1 Tbsp teff flour

1Tbsp sorghum flour

½ tsp Kosher salt

1 tsp brown sugar

½ tsp ground ginger

¼ tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp vanilla extract

Almond butter and coconut sugar (or brown sugar)

Preparation:

Put all ingredients (except for the almond butter and coconut sugar) into a pan and whisk quickly over medium heat to prevent lumps. Cook until the porridge reaches the desired consistency while stirring with a whisk. It can be served at this point or set aside for cooling, whisking from time to time.  Refrigerate for 2-3 hours. When cold it has a pudding like texture. Serve with a generous dollop of almond butter and one or two teaspoons of coconut sugar.

 

teff porridge | makeeat.wordpress.com

leave a comment

