Zahia

Zahia Sawad, Hussniyya, 26.01.14

Zahia is 43 years old and has three children. She lives in a Bedouin village Hussniyya. During the months of winter and spring she forages edible wild plants, teaches how to cook them in the field and at her home.

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.comZahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

Zahia | makeeat.wordpress.com

When did you start foraging?

Since I was 5, with my mother and grandmother.

Do you forage for medicinal purposes as well?

Sometimes. I think all plants have remedial properties, eating them strengthens me.

Do you pass your knowledge to your children?

Yes, they come with me whenever I go on a foraging trip. I want them to learn everything I know about the plants and eat them. Every year we wait for the wild plants to come out after the rain imbuing us with new energies. Sometimes I freeze fresh mallow, Palestine arum and fennel to use in the summer.

Which plants grow near your house?

Mallow, chicory, fennel, Egyptian campion (smamiha), sometimes there is a bit of Palestine arum. I go to the mountain above Hussniyya to pick arum; it’s hard work that takes hours. For two weeks already I’m waiting for someone to come with me, because I’m scared to go alone to the mountain, but we can’t find time that suits all.

Some plants are protected, right?

Yes, cyclamen, zaatar, wild asparagus; we don’t pick them. If you want zaatar, just plant it near your house.

Which plants do you like best?

I love arum; it’s poisonous but also very healthy. You must learn how to cook arum – first take out its spine, chop and add salt, then rub thoroughly, rinse and squeeze out the liquids. It’s very itchy, so gloves are a must. But it’s so good, really worth the effort. After the first taste you forget all the work that was put into it. Arum is a medicinal plant, it helps to cure cancer. Chicory is also very tasty and fennel with lentils – I like them all.

At my foraging trips I explain about the plants and how to cook them; we also cook together on an open fire. Before every trip I find out which plants grow in the area and bring along those that are missing. People also come to my house, pick plants and cook together, and I tell them about the life in the village, about Bedouin women and the changes in Bedouin society.

Do you have any tips for a foraging beginner?

Constantly try and pick. I didn’t learn what I know in a day. I made many mistakes, and had to ask my mother and grandmother. Till the age of 15-16 I used to bring half chicory and half goat food. Even after I got married, at 20, I still made mistakes. You have to taste, feel, and ask someone who knows the plants.

I’ll tell you something. I decided that I want to learn to speak English. I don’t have time to go to a teacher, so I found English lessons on YouTube, and I listen to it while doing house work. Even if I learn two words in half an hour, that’s ok. I repeat the lesson every day until I remember one word and then another. Same thing with the plants.

That’s how you learned to play the piano?

I began with a teacher from Maale Zviya, but now we can’t find the time. I watch piano lessons on YouTube.

What do you like playing on the piano?

I like the songs of Abdel Halim Hafez, an Egyptian singer. I sing them, but can’t play so well yet. I think it will take me a lot of time to learn. But every little thing we learn is good.

I want to learn Arabic.

You can. Look at me, for a week I’ve been repeating the same English lesson. Sometimes I ask myself what do I need it for, but it’s important to be able to say even a few words. I won’t quit. I wish next year when you come I’ll speak English and you’ll speak Arabic. I always tell the children [in Maale Zviya?]: “Guys, you have to learn to speak Arabic because you live in the midst of Arabic villages – Arraba, Sakhnin, Deir Hanna, Mghar, Rameh… When you go to get groceries or anything else, you can say – ‘marhaba, ana bidi…’ (hello, I want…)” – it’s  great.

Now it seems impossible that I didn’t know a word in Hebrew. If you really want to learn, you have to use every opportunity to speak. Don’t be shy. It’s ok to make mistakes; it shows that you’re making an effort, and someone will correct you. No mistakes no learning – that’s what we say. Any new experience is interesting and a chance to learn from each other. It took me a long time to understand those things – to learn, not to be shy, to say what I feel.

to Zahia’s page on Facebook

3 comments

  1. Dany

    Pour moi qui aime la nature c est un plaisir de deguster ces herbes sauvages ,bravo Zahia !!!et les photos de Vero sont super belles !!!

  2. Pingback: Green lentils with wild fennel | make eat

  3. Pingback: Garden pesto and sourdough bread | make eat

leave a comment

