Red and black

Picture 043ps

Picture 047s2

redblack3p3s

Angelika Madi talked about the importance of relationships between women outside of their family circle, and I thought about my own circle of women – friends that listen to me and by encouraging push me forward. And this is my opportunity to say: “Thank you!” I’m grateful to have you all in my life.

The red and black colors of traditional Palestinian embroidery were my inspiration. I shot the pepper series this week, but the soup was shot about a year ago during Danya and Deanna’s amazing food photography course and was just right for this post. That’s why I have a soup recipe again.

Picture 014p2s2

Beet and fennel soup

The original recipe was published in Bon Appétit in January 2011; I followed the recipe with minor changes. The combination of beets and fennel was very surprising, but it works  great. I’ve made it a few times, and each time the color changes from dark to light red and pink depending on the beets.

Ingredients (4 servings)

2 Tsp olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

1 cup chopped fennel bulb

1 ½ tsp anise seeds

2 large beets, peeled, cut into small cubes

2 cups vegetable broth

½ cup heavy cream (15%)

salt, pepper

Preparation

1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onions, fennel and anise seeds, and sauté for about 5 minutes until the vegetables are softened.

2. Add beets, stir and add the broth. Bring to a boil, cover and lower the heat to medium-low. Cook until the beets are tender, about 20 min.

3. Puree soup with a hand blender.

4. Add heavy cream, and season with salt and pepper.

Notes

*I used anise seeds instead of fennel seeds in the original recipe; the latter would have a milder taste.

*You may use chicken broth or just water instead of vegetable broth.

*I used heavy cream instead of kefir in the original recipe. I haven’t had the opportunity to try it yet, so I’d love to hear about how the soup tastes with kefir.

*Garnish soup with fennel fronds. In my photograph it’s black salt.

One comment

  1. Galia

    Love it!
    All your pics have it’s own story and the fragrances of beauty.
    The idea of the spice’s mandala is something special.
    Keep up the nice work.
    Galia

leave a comment

